Helmut Sinzinger Award

for the best publication in the fields of lipometabolic disorders, atherosclerosis diseases and their latest diagnostic and treatment methods.

Therapy options including lipoprotein apheresis

Foundation deed

- 1. In honour of the extraordinary merits, extensive and long-standing scientific activities of Univ.Prof. Dr Helmut Sinzinger, the company Fresenius Medical Care GmbH, Lundenburgergasse 5, 1210 Vienna (hereinafter referred to as the sponsor) is offering an annual award amounting to EUR 5,000 until further notice for the best publication published (or demonstrably accepted) in the past calendar year in the fields of lipometabolic disorders, atherosclerotic diseases and their latest diagnostic and therapeutic options (including lipoprotein apheresis). All persons, regardless of their nationality, who have studied at a university in Austria or are employed in Austria and have written a relevant scientific paper as first author in the past year are invited to apply to the Board of Trustees of the Society of Physicians in Vienna and the AAA Austrian Apheresis Association.
- 2. The best work demonstrably accepted for publication or published in the previous calendar year will be selected. The presentation of the three best works selected by the jury will take place in a festive setting; the winner will present his/her results in a 15-minute lecture, either in German or English. The price is awarded annually.
- 3. The presentation of the selected scientific papers takes place on the premises of the **Society** of Physicians in Vienna, the Billrothhaus (Frankgasse 8, 1090 Vienna). In return, the Society provides the premises for the annual presentation free of charge.
- 4. The jury decides on the awarding of the prize. It consists of at least six habilitated medical specialists from an Austrian university, the president of the Society of Physicians in Vienna (chair of the jury) and a representative of the sponsor.

The sponsor's representative is not entitled to vote, but takes part in the jury meeting and the award ceremony.

The prize is awarded based on a vote among the jury members with a simple majority, excluding legal recourse. In the event of a tie, the vote of the chairperson shall be decisive.

5. The amount of the prize totals 5,000.00 euros and will be divided among the winners as follows:

1.Price: 2.500,00 Euro

2.Price: 1.500,00 Euro

3.Price: 1.000,00 Euro

6. The awards will be presented by the representative of the sponsor, the President of the Society of

Physicians in Vienna (chair of the jury) together with the President of the AAA.

7. The result of the award ceremony is to be published by the foundation's board of trustees in at least

one relevant specialist journal.

For their part, the AAA and the Society of Physicians in Vienna will publish a summary of the award-

winning work on their website and issue a press release. The winners will be chosen by the jury

without recourse to legal action and will receive a certificate.

8. The scientific paper must be submitted in PDF format along with the curriculum vitae (including the

impact factor of the respective journal) to info@billrothhaus.at.

If the publication has not yet been published, a confirmation of acceptance must be submitted.

9. The sponsor's support is mentioned in all mailings, information and certificates in connection with

this award.

The sponsor's logo must be used correctly in accordance with the specifications (size, positioning,

pages, etc.). The specifications for the use of the logo will be sent separately together with the logo.

In the interests of longer-term cooperation with the sponsor, a cancellation period of 18 months

prior to the submission deadline (30 June of each year) - is agreed. The jury members are appointed

for life. They only retire through voluntary resignation or death.

10. The prize will be awarded without recourse to legal action.

Current Jury members:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ernst Agneter, Vienna

(President of the Society of Physicians in Vienna and chair of the jury)

Univ. Prof. Dr. Beatrix Volc-Platzer, Vienna

(Past President of the Society of Physicians in Vienna)

Dr. Volker Witt, Wien (President of the AAA), Vienna

Univ. Prof. Dr. Kurt Derfler (Past Präsident der AAA), Vienna

Prim. Priv. Doz. Dr. Robert Berent, Bad Ischl

Univ. Prof. Dr. Christoph J. Binder, Vienna

Prim. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Martin Clodi, Linz

Prim. Priv. Doz. Dr. Georg Delle-Karth, Vienna

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Georg Endler, Vienna

Dr. Lindsay Hargitai, Vienna

Univ. Prof. Dr. Renate Koppensteiner, Vienna

Priv. Doz. Dr. Andreas Kronbichler, PhD, Cambridge

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Walter Speidl, Vienna

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Sabine Steiner, Vienna

Univ. Prof. Dr. Thomas Stulnig, Vienna

Univ. Prof. Dr. Oswald Wagner, Vienna

Vienna, 2025